Saturday 18th April 2015
News Feeds:
General Election Results

general-election-2010-resultsSome facts

Jo had the largest majority of 17,200 since the Constituency was formed in 1945.

Jo had the largest percentage of the vote for any candidate of 59.7%  since Donald Sumner in 1955 who got 59.9.

Jo got the largest actual vote (29,200) since Ivor Stanbrook in 1979 when Maggie Thatcher came to power.

Jo got the biggest swing (12.2%) since the famous by-election of 1962 when the Liberals took control with a swing of 26.3%.




A message from Jo

Many imagined that Orpington, the epicentre of a previous Liberal revival, might succumb to Cleggmania. The people of this constituency have in fact given a decisive endorsement of the Conservative programme for government. A clear majority of Orpington voters - 59.7 per cent - backed the Conservatives, with the Liberal Democrats receiving 24.5 per cent of the vote and the Labour party 9 per cent.

I would like to thank all those who made this terrific result possible, starting with Julian Benington, my Election Agent, and John Esler, Chairman of the Orpington Conservative Association. But swings of this size - 12.2 per cent - can only be the result of an incredible team effort, involving hundreds of volunteers and activists, and I am grateful to everyone who came out delivering leaflets, canvassing and putting up posters during the campaign.

I am honoured now to have the opportunity to represent the people of the Orpington constituency in Westminster and I will do so to the best of my ability.


Name Party Votes % +/-
Joseph Johnson Conservative 29,200 59.7 +8.5
David McBride Liberal Democrat 12,000 24.5 -15.9
Stephen Morgan Labour 4,400 9.0 +3.0
Mick Greenhough UK Independence Party 1,360 2.8 +0.4
Tess Culnane British National Party 1,241 2.5 +2.5
Tamara Galloway Green Party 511 1.0 +1.0
Chriss Snape English Democrats 199 0.4 +0.4

For further details please visit the BBC's General Election site by clicking here.


This site was established while I was a Member of Parliament. As Parliament has now been dissolved, there are no MPs until after the General Election on 7 May.


This site uses cookies to optimise your user experience. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on However, if you would like to, you can modify your browser so that it notifies you when cookies are sent to it, or you can refuse cookies altogether. You can also delete cookies that have already been set. Please note that you will lose some features and functionality on this website if you choose to disable cookies. If you require any further information, please click here.

Copyright © 2015 Jo Johnson, Member of Parliament for Orpington. Designed by:portcullismedia-inactive